KENT NAGANO et
l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
un film de
Roger Frappier et Justin Kingsley
produit par
Roger Frappier

TOMSON HIGHWAY
MATTHEW RICKETTS
FLORENT VOLLANT
AKINISIE Sivuarapik
ERNEST WEBB
EVIE MARK
MARC WIESER
ANNA BURDEN
MARIANNE DUGAL
OWEN MCCAUSLAND
Geoffroy Salvas

Trailer

Synopsis

An orchestra and its famed conductor go on tour in Quebec’s great northern tundra to visit Cree, Innu and Inuit communities and share an Indigenous chamber opera whose mission is to teach white men how to laugh, and therefore love more.

In fall 2018, the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal created the chamber opera Chaakapesh: The Trickster’s Quest, a lighthearted story of the hero who founded the Innu people narrated in three languages (Innu, Cree and Inuktitut) by Florent Vollant, Ernest Webb and Akinisie Sivuarapik. The opera is an ingenious musical adaptation by contemporary composer Matthew Ricketts of renowned Indigenous playwright Tomson Highway’s wonderfully imagined and written Chaakapesh: The Trickster’s Quest. Maestro Kent Nagano and the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal showed remarkable boldness of vision by programming the opera for opening night of the OSM’s last season in Montreal and then taking it on tour to Nunavik and the Lower North Shore. As Nagano so aptly says in the film, “As artists, we’re used to taking risks.”

Kuujjuaq, Salluit, Kuujjuarapik, Oujé-Bougoumou, Mashteuiatsh, Maliotenam... Much more than just a tour, CHAAKAPESH, the film, puts the audience front row centre in an absolutely unique meeting place for the artists and the community. Poignant testimonies, important discussions and Maestro Nagano as we’ve never seen him before.

Credits

A film by Roger Frappier and Justin Kingsley
With
Kent Nagano
L’Orchestre symphonique de ­Montréal
Tomson Highway
Matthew Ricketts
Florent Vollant
Akinisie Sivuarapik
Ernest Webb
Evie Mark
Marc Wieser
Anna Burden
Marianne Dugal
Owen McCausland
Geoffroy Salvas
Running time
123 minutes
Production
Max Films
Distribution and international sales
Fragments Distribution
Press Montréal
IXION Communications

Downloads

Images

<p>Photos © Fragments Distribution</p>

Photos © Fragments Distribution

Bande-annonce

Synopsis

Dans ce documentaire, un orchestre et son célèbre maestro partent en tournée dans la grande toundra nordique du Québec pour visiter les communautés cries, innues et inuites et partager avec elles un opéra de chambre autochtone où l’on apprend aux Blancs à rire, et par le fait même, à aimer davantage.

À l’automne 2018, l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal créait l’opéra de chambre Chaakapesh, le périple du fripon, le récit plein d’humour d’un héros fondateur du peuple innu, narré en trois langues (innu, cri et inuktitut) par Florent Vollant, Ernest Webb et Akinisie Sivuarapik. Le conte Chaakapesh, le périple du fripon, merveilleusement imaginé et écrit par le grand dramaturge autochtone Tomson Highway, a trouvé toute son expression musicale grâce à la collaboration avec le compositeur de musique contemporaine Matthew Ricketts. Il fallait beaucoup d’audace et de vision au maestro Kent Nagano et à l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal pour inscrire cet opéra en ouverture de la dernière saison de l’OSM à Montréal et l’emmener ensuite en tournée au Nunavik et sur la Basse-Côte-Nord. Comme le dit si justement Kent Nagano dans le film : « Nous, les artistes, nous sommes habitués à prendre des risques. »

Kuujjuaq, Salluit, Kuujjuarapik, Oujé-Bougoumou, Mashteuiatsh, Maliotenam : bien plus qu’une simple tournée, CHAAKAPESH, le film, nous place aux premières loges d’un espace de rencontres absolument exceptionnelles, autant pour les artistes que pour les communautés. Des témoignages poignants, des discours essentiels et un maestro Nagano comme on ne l’a jamais vu.

Crédits

Un film de Roger Frappier et Justin Kingsley
Avec
Kent Nagano
L’Orchestre symphonique de ­Montréal
Tomson Highway
Matthew Ricketts
Florent Vollant
Akinisie Sivuarapik
Ernest Webb
Evie Mark
Marc Wieser
Anna Burden
Marianne Dugal
Owen McCausland
Geoffroy Salvas
Durée
123 minutes
Production
Max Films
Distribution et ventes à l’étranger
Fragments Distribution
Relations de presse
IXION Communications

Téléchargements

Images

<p>Photos © Fragments Distribution</p>

Photos © Fragments Distribution